## GOVERNMENT GAZETTE, 1 OCTOBER 1999 NO. 20491 DEPARTMENT OF WATER AFFAIRS AND FORESTRY

No. 1160 1 October 1999

NATIONAL WATER ACT, 1998 (ACT NO. 36 OF 1998)

## ESTABLISHMENT OF THE WATER MANAGEMENT AREAS AND THEIR BOUNDARIES AS A COMPONENT OF THE NATIONAL WATER RESOURCE STRATEGY IN TERMS OF SECTION 5(1) OF THE NATIONAL WATER ACT (ACT NO. 36 OF 1998)

I, RONALD KASRILS, MP, Minister of Water Affairs and Forestry, hereby in terms of Section 5(1) of the National Water Act, 1998 (Act No. 36 of 1998), establish the water management areas and determine their boundaries as contained in the Schedule hereto as a component of the National Water Resource Strategy.

## **SCHEDULE**

WATER MANAGEMENT AREA	BOUNDARY DESCRIPTION
1. Limpopo:	Tertiary drainage regions A41, A42, A50,
	A61 to A63, A71, A72 and A80.
Major rivers include the Limpopo, Matlabas,	
Mokolo, Lephalala, Mogalakwena, Sand and Nzhelele	
2. Luvuvhu and Letaba:	Tertiary drainage regions A91, A92, B81
2. Buvuvita and Betaba.	to B83 and B90.
Major rivers include the Mutale, Luvuvhu and	
Letaba	
3. Crocodile (West) and Marico:	Tertiary drainage regions A10, A21 to
	A24, A31, A32 and quaternary drainage
Major rivers include the Crocodile (West) and	region D41A.
Marico 4. Olifants:	Tertiary drainage regions B11, B12, B20,
4. Offiants:	B31, B32, B41, B42, B51, B52, B60 and
Major rivers include the Elands, Wilge,	B71 to B73.
Steelpoort and Olifants	B/1 to B/5.
5. Înkomati:	Primary drainage region X.
Major rivers include the Nwanedzi, Sabie,	
Crocodile (East) and Komati	D.: 1: W
6. Usutu to Mhlatuze:	Primary drainage region W.
Major rivers include the Usutu, Pongola,	
Mhlatuze, Mfolozi and Mkuze	
7. Thukela:	Primary drainage region V.
Major river is the Thukela	
8. Upper Vaal:	Tertiary drainage regions C11 to C13,
M · · · 1 1 /1 3371 3 · · · 1	C21 to C23, and C81 to C83.
Major rivers include the Wilge, Liebenbergsvlei and Vaal	
9. Middle Vaal:	Tertiary drainage regions C24, C25, C41
9. Iviidule v aai.	to C43, C60 and C70.
Major rivers include the Mooi, Vet and Vaal	55 C 15, 500 and 570.

10. Lower Vaal:  Major rivers include the Harts, Molopa and Vaal	Tertiary drainage regions C31 to C33, C91, C92 (excluding quaternary catchment C92C), D41 (excluding quaternary catchment D41A), and quaternary catchments D73A and portions of D42C, D42D, D73B, D73C, D73D and D73E. The western boundary of this area runs from the confluence of the Kuruman River with the Molopo River along the watershed between quaternary catchments D42C and D42D until it meets the boundary of the Kalahari East Water Board. The Water Management Area boundary then follows this Water Board boundary to a point, west of the Langberge, 19 kilometres west of Beeshoek, near Postmasburg. The Water Management Area boundary then runs South East to meet the watershed between quaternary catchments D73A and D73B. The boundary then follows this watershed, and that between D73A and D71B, until it meets the watershed of tertiary catchment C92.
11. Mvoti to Umzimkulu:  Major rivers include the Mvoti, Umgeni,	Primary drainage region U and tertiary drainage regions T40, T51 and T52.
Umkomazi and Umzimkulu	
12. Mzimvubu to Keiskamma:  Major rivers include the Mzimvubu, Mtata, Mbashe, Buffalo, Nahoon, Groot Kei and Keiskamma	Primary drainage regions R and S, and also tertiary drainage regions T11 to T13, T20, T31 to T36, T60, T70, T80 and T90.
13. Upper Orange:	Tertiary dra inage regions C51, C52, D11 to D18, D21 to D24, D31, D32, D34 and D35.
Major rivers include the Modder, Riet, Caledon and Orange	D33.
14. Lower Orange:  Major rivers include the Ongers, Hartbees and Orange	Primary drainage region F (excluding tertiary drainage region F60), tertiary drainage regions D33, D42 (excluding portions of quaternary catchments D42Cand D42D), D51 to D58, D61, D62, D71 to D73 (excluding quaternary catchment D73A and portions of D73B, D73C, D73D and D73E), D81, D82, and quaternary catchment C92C.
15. Fish to Tsitsikamma:	Primary drainage regions L, M, N, P, Q and tertiary drainage regions K80 and
Major rivers include the Fish, Kowie, Boesmans, Sundays, Gamtoos, Kromme, Tsitsikamma and Groot	K90.
16. Gouritz:	Primary drainage region J and tertiary drainage regions H80, H90, K10 to K70.
Major rivers include the Gouritz, Olifants, Kamanassie, Gamka, Buffels, Touws, Goukou and Duiwenhoks	

17. Olifants/Doorn:	Primary drainage region E and tertiary
	drainage regions G30 and F60.
Major rivers include the Olifants, Doorn, Krom,	
Sand, and Sout	
18. Breede:	Tertiary drainage regions G40 (excluding
	quaternary catchment G40A), G50, and
Major rivers include the Breede, Sonderend,	H10 to H70.
Sout, Bot and Palmiet	
19. Berg:	Tertiary drainage regions G10, G21, and
	G22 and quaternary catchment G40A
Major rivers include the Berg, Diep and	with the northern boundary following the
Steenbras	watershed between tertiary drainage
	regions G10 and G30 up to the town of
	Aurora. From Aurora the boundary runs
	directly to the coast in a westerly
	direction.

## **WATER MANAGEMENT AREAS**

